Northern Mindanao

Northern Mindanao

Northern Mindanao (Filipino: Hilagang Mindanaw) (Region X) is a region of the Philippines, composed of five provinces and two cities classified as highly-urbanized, all occupying the north-central part of Mindanao island, and the island-province of Camiguin. The regional center is Cagayan de Oro City. Lanao del Norte was transferred to Northern Mindanao from Region XII (then called Central Mindanao) by virtue of Executive Order No. 36.

Component Cities

  • Bukidnon
  • Malaybalay City
  • Valencia City
  • Misamis Occidental
  • Oroquieta City
  • Ozamiz City
  • Tangub City
  • Misamis Oriental
  • El Salvador City
  • Gingoog City

Cultural groups

The vast majority of the region’s inhabitants are migrants from Cebu and Bohol. Some inhabitants are of Waray, Tagalog and Maranao descent.


Rainfall in Northern Mindanao is evenly distributed throughout the year. Its abundant vegetation, natural springs and high elevation contribute to the region’s cool, mild and invigorating climate.

Land use

Northern Mindanao has a total land area of 14,032.93 km² of which 6,571 km² is alienable and disposable lands, and the remaining 7,461.99 km².

Natural resources

More than 60% of Northern Mindanao’s total land area are classified as forest land. Its seas abound with fish and other marine products.


The economy of Northern Mindanao is the largest regional economy in the island of Mindanao.[2] The economy in Northern Mindanao is mainly agricultural. But there is also a booming growth of industries particularly in Cagayan de Oro City and in Iligan City. The famous Del Monte Philippines located in the Province of Bukidnon and its processing plant is located in Cagayan de Oro City, which shipped to the entire Philippines and Asia-Pacific region. The Agus-IV to VII Hydroelectric Plants in Iligan City and Baloi, Lanao del Norte supplies most of its electrical power in Mindanao.