Western Visayas

Western Visayas

Western Visayas, one of the regions of the Philippines, is designated as Region VI. It consists of six provinces; Aklan, Antique, Negros Occidental, Capiz, Guimaras and Iloilo and 16 cities making it the region with the highest number of cities. Iloilo City is the regional center.

Western Visayas is composed of six provinces and the highly urbanized cities of Bacolod and Iloilo.

Component cities

  • Bago City, Negros Occidental
  • Cadiz City, Negros Occidental
  • Escalante City, Negros Occidental
  • Himamaylan City, Negros Occidental
  • Kabankalan City, Negros Occidental
  • La Carlota City, Negros Occidental
  • Passi City, Iloilo
  • Roxas City, Capiz
  • Sagay City, Negros Occidental
  • San Carlos City, Negros Occidental
  • Silay City, Negros Occidental
  • Sipalay City, Negros Occidental
  • Talisay City, Negros Occidental
  • Victorias City, Negros Occidental


The Western Visayas region was created from Aklan, Antique, Capiz, Iloilo (including its then-subprovince of Guimaras) and Negros Occidental by Presidential Decree No. 1 as part of the Integrated Reorganisation Plan of President Ferdinand Marcos.
The Province of Palawan was transferred to Region VI (Western Visayas) on May 23, 2005 by Executive Order 429. The Department of the Interior and Local Government announced in June 2005 that the transfer had been completed.[5] However, Palaweños criticized the move, citing a lack of consultation, with most residents in Puerto Princesa City and all municipalities but one preferring to stay with Region IV-B. Consequently, Administrative Order No. 129 was issued on August 19, 2005 to address this backlash. This Order directed the abeyance of Executive Order 429 pending the approval of an implementation plan for the orderly transfer of Palawan from Region IV-B to Region VI.[3] Hence, Palawan is currently (as of May, 2007) still part of Region IV-B.


The languages native to the inhabitants of Western Visayas are:

  • Hiligaynon, spoken in Iloilo, Negros Occidental, Guimaras, and Capiz.
  • Capiznon, spoken in Capiz
  • Kinaray-a, spoken in Antique and parts of Iloilo, Capiz and Aklan.
  • Akeanon, spoken in Aklan.
  • Malaynon, spoken in Aklan.
  • Cebuano, spoken in the northern parts of Negros Occidental and its municipalities and cities which are facing Tañon Strait towards Cebu.



Exterior of the Iloilo International Airport


  • Bacolod-Silay International Airport
  • Iloilo International Airport
  • Kalibo International Airport


  • Evelio Javier Airport (Antique)
  • Godofredo P. Ramos Airport (Caticlan)
  • Kabankalan City Domestic Airport
  • Roxas Airport


Proposals to re-connect again Iloilo-Roxas, Iloilo-Kalibo, Iloilo-Malay (Aklan) and Iloilo-San Jose (Antique) from the Iloilo City via rail was included in the revival of the currently defunct Panay Railways network which has a station in Santa Barbara town proper.