Zamboanga Peninsola

Zamboanga Peninsula

Zamboanga Peninsula is a peninsula and an administrative region in the Philippines. Designated as Region IX, the region consists of three provinces, namely, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, and Zamboanga Sibugay, its component cities of Dipolog, Dapitan, Pagadian, and Isabela and the highly urbanized city of Zamboanga. The region was previously known as Western Mindanao before the enactment of Executive Order No. 36 on September 19, 2001. Pagadian City is the regional center.


Province of Zamboanga

After the United States annexed the Spanish East Indies in 1898, Zamboanga was briefly independent as the Republic of Zamboanga. It became a part of the Moro Province, which consisted of the Central and Western parts of Mindanao and the Sulu Archipelago. The name and status of Moro province soon changed to the Department of Mindanao and Sulu on August 16, 1916, that caused Zamboanga to become a province.

On 1942, the occupation by the Japanese Imperial forces has taken in Zamboanga Peninsula

On 1945, the liberation at Zamboanga Peninsula by joint United States and Philippine Commonwealth armed forces against the Japanese Imperial forces during the World War II.

On June 6, 1952, the province was divided into two provinces, Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga del Sur, while the chartered City of Zamboanga became an independent city.


Together with the Sulu Archipelago, the provinces that formerly made up Zamboanga province were organized into Region IX by order of Presidential Decree No. 1[1] as part of the Integrated Reorganization Plan of President Ferdinand Marcos that was signed in September 24, 1972.

Between 1975 to 1989 the old Region IX (Western Mindanao) was divided into two sub-regions by Presidential Decree No. 773[2] dated August 21, 1975. Sub-Region IX-A is to be consisted of Basilan, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi with Jolo, Sulu as the sub-regional center while Sub-Region IX-B consisted of the provinces of Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga del Sur, with the chartered city of Zamboanga City as the sub-regional center.

The Present

In 2001, Zamboanga Sibugay, was created from the province of Zamboanga del Sur with Ipil as the seat of government with the virtue of Republic Act No. 8973.

In the same year, the residents of Basilan opted to join the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) in a plebiscite. However, the citizens of the capital, Isabela City, did not want to join so the city remained a part of this region as a result of Executive Order No. 36.

In 2004, Pagadian City officially became the Regional Center for Region IX- Zamboanga Peninsula, despite opposition from Zamboanga City, the former Regional Center.

In 2011, a group of politicians led by former Zamboanga del Norte First District Congressman Romeo Jalosjos forged a group, whose aim is to create a new region called the Western Peninsula. This proposal includes Misamis Occidental in Region X, which is nearer than Northern Mindanao to promote progress and development among the provinces and cities in the newly formed region. Its group membership includes all of the three provinces and component cities, excluding Zamboanga and Isabela Cities